Best answer: What is the spine known as?

The front part of each of the vertebrae is called the vertebral body. There are 23 elastic spinal disks between the vertebrae – except for between the skull and the first cervical vertebra, and between the first and second cervical vertebrae.

What is your spine otherwise known as?

TA2. 1001. Anatomical terminology. The vertebral column, also known as the backbone or spine, is part of the axial skeleton.

What is the correct name for the spine?

Vertebral Column

Term # of Vertebrae Body Area
Cervical 7 Neck
Thoracic 12 Chest
Lumbar 5 or 6 Low Back
Sacrum 5 (fused) Pelvis

What is the back of the spine called?

The bottom of the spine is called the sacrum. It is made up of several vertebral bodies usually fused together as one. The remaining small bones or ossicles below the sacrum are also fused together and called the tailbone or coccyx.

Is back same as spine?

When most people mention their back, what they are actually referring to is their spine. The spine runs from the base of your skull down the length of your back, going all the way down to your pelvis. It is composed of 33 spool-shaped bones called vertebrae, each about an inch thick and stacked one upon another.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: Does arthritis just show up one day?

What is natural shape of spine?

The normal spine has an S-shaped curve when viewed from the side. This shape allows for an even distribution of weight and flexibility of movement. The spine curves in the following ways: The cervical spine curves slightly inward, sometimes described as a backward C-shape or lordotic curve.

What are the three areas of the spine?

The spine has three normal curves: cervical, thoracic and lumbar. There are seven cervical vertebrae in the neck, 12 thoracic vertebrae in the torso and five lumbar vertebrae in the lower back.

What part of the spine controls the heart?

Thoracic (mid back) – the main function of the thoracic spine is to hold the rib cage and protect the heart and lungs. The twelve thoracic vertebrae are numbered T1 to T12.

What are the different parts of the spine called?

The spine itself has three main segments: the cervical spine, the thoracic spine, and the lumbar spine. The cervical is the upper part of the spine, made up of seven vertebrae (bones). The thoracic is the center portion of the spine, consisting of 12 vertebrae. The lower portion of the spine is called the lumbar spine.

What is L7 in the spine?

The seventh lumbar vertebra (L7) or its caudal articular processes are considered the most frequent sites of fractures, with fracture occurring more commonly than dislocation (Flatt et al., 1974).

What body parts are in your back?

The back supports the weight of the body, allowing for flexible movement while protecting vital organs and nerve structures.

  • Cervical intervertebral discs. Intervertebral disc of axis c2 vertebra. …
  • Thoracic intervertebral discs. …
  • Lumbar intervertebral discs.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: How long does it take for a doctor to remove a toenail?

Is lumbar part of spine?

The lumbar region of the spine, more commonly known as the lower back, consists of five vertebrae labeled L1 through L5. The lumbar region is situated between the thoracic, or chest, region of the spine, and the sacrum.

Your podiatrist